In class you will be taught the four subjects required by Texas law. They are Non Violent Dispute Resolution, Safe Storage, Handgun Use and Safety, and Use of Force, not necessarily in that order.
Non Violent Dispute Resolution will define communication skills and situational awareness required for the licensed handgun carrier.
Safe Storage will emphasize storage practices that eliminate the possibility of accidental injury to a child.
Handgun Use and Safety will incorporate the safe use and maintenance of your handgun, including the basic fundamentals of shooting.
Use of Force will cover Texas law including, but not limited to penal code chapter 9 and the various signage you must be familiar with.
We will start the day getting all required documentation organized for Texas DPS to minimize any administrative difficulties you may incur.
Texas Senate Bill 864, passed during the 2013 legislative session, became law on September 1, 2013. The law changes the required time spent in the classroom. Before the change the class was a minimum of 10 hours and a maximum of 15 hours. These times were all inclusive so they included the range time, breaks, review and final exam. The new law sets the limits on only classroom instruction. The new law did not delete any required information from the class material, therefore you will spend a minimum of 4 hours and a maximum of 6 hours in classroom instruction. Breaks, review, final exam and range time are in addition to classroom instruction time. According to experience in previous classes, please expect to spend about 7 hours total class day, keep in mind that the law requires this and any class that is a total of 4 hours start to finish cannot be legal.
Handgun proficiency instruction is available in another class as the law will not allow for this type of instruction to be included in the 4-6 hour time frame.